I Don’t Get It

April 20, 2006

I’m going to talk about Jason Calacanis (AOL’s Weblogs Inc) move into blogging about States across the United States.

But don’t get me wrong I’m not saying “I don’t Get It’. I reckon I do. What I don’t get is the strange reaction coming from certain areas of the blogosphere.

Example. Chartreuse (BETA)

Do you, big Manhattan Advertising Executive, really care about what’s going on in Ithaca, New York? … The folks in Toledo don’t care much about what’s happening in Akron either.

And then I head on over to the blog in question – Blogging Ohio – and notice straight away that yes, it’s a State blog … yet, it has categories, so far, of six of it’s cities: Akron, Cincinatti, Cleveland, Columbus, Dayton and Toledo. So What’s the Problem?

I personally reckon it’s a quite a good idea … if done right. It’s not my cup-of-tea (but say if there where one for my home town or others I have visited or would love to know more about well then I’m on board), but the potential is so obvious. Just because you may not give a shit about Ohio doesn’t mean there aren’t others out there that do. That’s called a niche.

Yet the comments over there are seemingly slapping it down and laughing it up. I see a lot of envy of Calacanis. Strange. Almost like becasue he’s the only guy yet to make any real money from blogging (he sold his blog network to AOL last year for $25m) he’s an easy target. Professional jealousy? I don’t know.

Strange, because you can see where this might go. From State-wide, to cities and then into smaller communities … all from the same state beginning point. Think: Advertising. Localized.

If I loved my city – say, Akron – I’d frequently visit the blog to see what’s happening (now isn’t that a targeted visitor. Once again, local advertisers I would think would jump at that).

I’d say give it some time to see where it heads rather than jumping on the easy bandwagon of slapping around Calacanis … especially as it’s a new venture … and what new venture doesn’t need time to find its feet – even for a those with deep pockets.

It may or may not work – I don’t really care either way. What’s surprising is the astonishing reaction.

Sad, because I thought better of some bloggers.

