Aussie Rules Here We Go …

March 30, 2006

sherrin12.jpgDid I tell you I’m an Aussie? Did I tell you I’m a born and bred Melbourne boy? If you know anything about Australia, and Melbourne in particular you know that we are sports mad!

And no other sport makes us mad as Footy – Footy, as in Aussie Style.

Aussie Rules Footy is back for 2006. WooHoo.

magpies.JPGDid I tell you I’m a Collingwood supporter? Snicker if you like … but we’re on the march to our best year in .. years!

For those not in the know, Collingwood is the most hated club in the game – and as fans, we wouldn’t have it any other way.

As a youngster my best friend and I had some of the fondest times growing up going to the footy on a Saturday afternoon in the 80’s. Those times will stick with me forever. We’re both married now, with kids and with busy lives – but the adventures of our youths will remain with us forever and a big part of that adventure was going to the footy.

I only go to a handful of games each year these days … but I’ve got this sneaking suspicion I may get on the phone more often to my best friend during this year and meet up in the city for a pre-game pizza and then it’s off to the game … Yup, footy is back!

GO PIES!!!

2 Responses to “Aussie Rules Here We Go …”

  1. greenlightsabers Says:

    Rofl, the Swans won last year’s final. 😛

  2. gonzoblog Says:

    As a Victorian, I’m rolling on the floor crying – but seriously, if the swannies can do it then anybody can – if not this year, there’s always next year and the year after that and so on … 😉


Leave a Reply

