Motley Fuckin’ Crue

March 26, 2006

motley.gifI gotta say I’m a big fan of Motley Crue – have been ever since my teenage years.

Now most people know of the Crue because of Tommy Lee’s antics and fame over recent years (what the fuck was that Tommy Lee Goes to College!). But I know them years before that.

I first came across them in 1984. High School. Australia. A mild Misfit. Some Heavy Metal magazine. They caught my attention and kept it since. And what was even more cool was the 2 or 3 of us who were really into them seemed like we were the only ones in Australia. Fuck – our high school (300+ pimple geeks) didn’t have a clue. Parents. Peers. Brothers and Cousins. Not a clue.

“Shout at the Devil” was my first album. It was played a thousand times. I’ve got the “Theatre of Pain” logo tattooed on my arm. I was proud as punch when they came back from the dead (literaly with Nikki) to have a number one smash with Dr. Feelgood.

I almost cried when they broke apart and a new singer was bought in (which was quite a kick arse record, imo).

“Generation Swine” was canned by many and sold shit house but I thought it was quite good.

Now they’re not the best musicians. They haven’t always the best songs going around. But they had something for a teenager. They had a “fuck you” attitude. For an Aussie they were Hollywood. They were Sunset Strip. They were rock and roll personified. Drugs. Sex. Rock and Roll and all that that makes rock and roll what it is.

As I grew up, made my way in life, marriage, family, business, another business, a crash, more business, blogging … I kept on following them – less as the years wore on, but nevertheless I followed their antics.

For a while there they seemed all lost (eg: they grew up just a little, had a dozen or so kids and quite possibly settled down with their millions). Their days had passed them so it seemed.

So isn’t it great to see them back on top of the world with their recent world tour. I had the fortune of meeting them backstage in Melbourne last year (ahhh, aren’t connections great!!!) – I was a true fan once again, turning back the years I was that starry eyed teenager once again. Funny how a few months later I let go of my old (staid) blog and got back just a little with my roots: punk, gonzo, chaos (damn, I see a blog or eMagazine in that!).

Yup, I’m a happy camper, as I thought I’d never see the day they’d be back and still kicking arse.
swine.jpg
Long love the Crue … for no matter what happens you were a part of my teenage years and that’s something that will never fade. And it’s more than likely that you’ve given me that kick in the backside I needed to say “fuck the rat race” I’m gonna do something gonzo!

