The Blog Columnist v5

August 25, 2006


In a nation run by swine, all pigs are upward-mobile and the rest of us are fucked until we can put our acts together: Not necessarily to Win, but mainly to keep from Losing Completely.

- Hunter S. Thompson
_____________________________

Welcome one and all to The Blog Columnist v5.

This edition I talk about The Blogging Times, Chartreuse, InstaMedia, More Minimal, JobBoard, Performancing and InstaBlogs

Let’s kickstart v5…

v5 was written with the Red Hot Chili Peppers Stadium Arcadium CD blasting my eardrums from here to hell and back. I’ll be semi-deaf in 20 years but who gives a fuck. Enjoy!

* * * * * * * * *

The Blogging Times Goes Video and MySpace
I like Minic Rivera who is the founder and editor of The Blogging Times. He’s done a stellar job in bringing out a top quality blogging publication.

The Blogging TimesBut I’m not sure about their latest move. A new columnist doing video segments about music found on MySpace.com – just doesn’t seem to weave together with what I thought The Blogging Times was all about – a very-newspaperish site on blogging news. I see the stamp of Chartreuse (a recent partner) all over this. This is exactly somethig he would do. I really wonder if in 12 months times we’ll see a completelty different Blogging Times from what you see today. Not sure guys.

* * * * * * * * *

embrace minimalism with your blog
By eliminating everything that’s not of interest to your target reader, you’ll take a big step toward creating a more readable and useful site: one that invites exploration, and creates expectations which will keep your fans coming back for more.

via more minimal … and read their follow up post five ways to make your blog more readable.

Achtung Bloggers of the World: Read it! Your blog will love you for it.

* * * * * * * * *

The Hemingway of Web 2.0 writing!!!

Over at InstaMedia, Ankit had this little tidbit … “If I were a little drunk, I might have called him the Hemingway of Web 2.0 writing.”

Being a total Hemingway aficionado from way back I took notice. Who is this Hemingway of today?

He’s talking of course about the flavour of year in the blogosphere Chartreuse (aka Mr Prince Campbell).


The Hemingway of … Not on your fucking life! Sorry Chartreuse, you’ve got yourself a decent following and a simple, cool writing style that clicks with many but you ain’t no Hemingway.

I’d have to be really whacked out and plastered on Papa’s trademark Daiquiri and I’d still say … no fucking way.

* * * * * * * * *

Jobs, Jobs, and More Jobs at JobBoard

Darren Rowse, fellow Melbourne blogger (the.best.fucking.city.in.the.world!) launched a classified service for bloggers this week – JobBoard.

At $50 a pop (soon to be $100) you can advertise for a blogger. Nice! And nice for bloggers to be able to go to one place and see what’s on offer. There are other like-services out there but with Darren’s high rep and a solid readership base this will work.

And good on you Darren for going straight for the money – everything can’t be for fucking free on the internet. Blogging is maturing. Cool.

* * * * * * * * *

Will Performancing Turn Digg-like?

Interesting post by Nick Wilson over at Performancing this week.

Talking about their Exchange service, Nick asked if folks liked the voting mechanism (very Digg like) where users can vote on jobs offered – and send it to the home page if the collective audience says so.

In the instance of Exchange, which is a classified-like marketplace for bloggers, I don’t see the need for it. I’d prefer to see a strong headline and a small excerpt for each offering and let it go from there. The problem, though, with such a free service, is the quality of postings. Free usually equals lots of rubbish. Do a Darren guys … and charge for the service. You cut out the crap, make some dosh and it’s a win/win for both advertisers and seekers.

But what perked my interest was what Nick said later on in the post… the community decides (in fact, i’d like to do this for all posts, including forum/blog/etc..)

In all posts. Now that’s not a bad idea. I’ve got to say that the quality of posts at Performancing is not as near as good as when it was in the first month and a half of its launch. And with any group blogging effort you are sure to get some hit and misses posts. So Performacning morphs into Digg territory and only gets better. Food for thought.

* * * * * * * * *

20,000,000 and going strong … Kudos to InstaBlogs

In my short time running Blog Network Watch I gave crap to those behind InstaBlogs for their constant delays in launching. I said it would ruin them or words to that effect.

Well this week I eat my words and am happy to report they have hit 20 million page views. But what’s astounding is they got nearly 50% of that in just (the) last 75 days. – holy fucking shit that’s some big numbers in such a short period.

Well done as he’s eating humble pie and I’ll even eat more pie when you get to 100,000,000.

Now who’s gonna be the first blog network to reach 1,000,000,000 (that’s 1 billion page views), leaving out JCal’s AOL empire of blogs.

* * * * * * * * *

That’s it folks. Have a good (non-blogging) weekend and I’ll see you early next week for v6 of The Blog Columnist.

When I say non-blogging I mean get the fuck away from the computer. Shut down your internet connection. Get out and enjoy life. If you like a drink, then have a drink. If you like to dance then dance. Do whatever you get off on and come back refreshed for another week of blogging.

____________________________

Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
- Benjamin Franklin

5 Responses to “The Blog Columnist v5”

  1. chartreuse Says:

    Who the fuck is Hemingway?

    (just kidding)

    Yeah, you’ll see some of my stamps all over TBT, for better or worse. Hopefully it will still keep Minic’s eye for news with a bit of my popcandy-itis.

    My actual goal is to hit Minic over the head and turn TBT into an online version of E! without all that blogosphere stuff.

    (just kidding, again!)

    Some of the new plans for TBT might be a bit controversial but we want to try some new things,reach a new audience, without losing the old fans and vibe that make the site special in the first place.

    Thanks for paying attention.

    Never confusing motion for action!

    –Prince (the New Hemingway) Campbell

  2. Martin Says:

    Thanks for dropping by Papa Chartreuse,

    I’ve got this feeling you ain’t kidding.

    And there’s no harm in trying new things – shit, I’d be disappointed if you didn’t push the limits at TBT. I expect nothing less.

    And if you keep pushing the limits you’ve got my attention, good or bad – and you know that if it’s good I’ll say so and if it’s crap I’ll say so as well (I’m an audience of one so c’mon and “entertain me” – which is btw a Robbie Williams song … why the fuck he’s not big in America I shall not know).

    And you now know that everytime I mention you here I’ll do it this way: “The new Hemingway, Mr Prince Campbell (aka Chartreuse)…” – let’s see if it spreads.

  3. chartreuse Says:

    I agree that Robbie Williams should be huge in this country, he’s the last great rockstar.

    And of course I’m not kidding. :)

  4. kit Says:

    Thank you so much for the link to more minimal, Martin!

    And, speaking from experience, Stadium Arcadium is excellent blogging background vibe. ;-)

  5. Martin Says:

    Achtung Americans: Robbie Wiliams is the real deal. Song after song after song. What more do you want? This guy knows the music biz is all a game and he plays it for all its worth.

    kit – not a problem at all. I’m all for minimal everything.

    Stadium Arc: love the funk, bass, and now with more guitars.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

